Thread: C6 Servo Adjustment

C6 Servo Adjustment

I have little experience with automatics, so thought I'd ask before hand. My C6 was built with stronger internals, and the shop told me I could adjust the servo 3/4 of a trun max to soften the shift. Is this as simple as removing the 4 bolts, and then ??????????? I appreciate the time someone would take to provide a brief description of what is to be done.

You can adjust the shift points by adjusting the vacuum modulator. Follow the vacuum line down to the modulator near the back of the pan on the transmission. Pull off the vacuum line. Use a small allen key wrench through the metal tube where the vacuum line was attached. (I don't remember what size allen key) Turn the screw inside the modulator. Tightening the crew I believe will make the shift later( firmer) and loosening the screw will make the shift earlier (softer). Don't make too big a change - 1/2 turn - at a time and see how the car drives
    03 MM 300A (7/25/02)
    Both options

Thanx Vern

Quote Originally Posted by Thomas C Potter View Post
    the shop told me I could adjust the servo 3/4 of a trun max to soften the shift.
    Hmm... Were they talking about adjusting the vacuum modulator? Or backing out the intermediate
    servo band adjustment bolt?

If you want it to shift earlier and softer overall at part throttle, that would be the modulator. But this
    won't affect WOT shifts. If you're looking for less whack from 2nd gear, particularly at about 2/3 throttle
    or more, backing out the band adjustment a bit might help. I would take small steps though, say 1/4 turn
    at a go, and definitely don't exceed 3/4 turn overall from where you are now.

The intermediate band adjustment is the sqare-headed bolt with locknut that's on the driver's side, just
    above the manual linkage. C6 has only one band. The locknut has a molded seal on it, and it's usually