Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: J-Mod questions

J-Mod questions

Recently purchased a '03 300A. Odometer is at 106k. Very healthy, noticed no problems so far. New member to this forum, and so far this site has been VERY helpful. Thank You All

Was reading up a lot and thinking of doing the jmod on my 4r70w myself. Im a transmission mechanic by trade, but not in the sense that you esteemed gentleman may think. I'm an A&P mechanic for a FAA repair station, performing diagnostic repair or overhaul on gearboxes that are otherwise known as CSD's and IDG's.

I've downloaded an old .pdf from the TCCOA site, and watched rizzos video on youtube, and read many, many posts on this forum and others regarding this mod.

I've purchased my new gaskets, new deep pan, was planning on getting all the Sonnax goodies: servo pin kit, regulator kit, boost valve kit, new Superior Tuff plate, and just knocking this out at work one Saturday morning (off the clock, of course)

What should I be aware of here? Simply removing springs and drilling a bunch of holes seems like it could cause damage. Thoughts, suggestions would be much appreciated.

The Jmod was invented by a ford transmission engineer , Jerry Wrobleski or something like that. It lessens friction by speeding up the shift. The only time it might be a trouble is if you wot from a stop on wet roads. The 1-2 shift can get squirrelly.
    2004 SB Ported Trilogy 48
    Has supporting mods and stuff
    Thanks to Marty O for his help in updating this car.

R.I.P.
    Rex "SC Cheesehead"

don't know the video you watched, but I've read / seen enough info to feel comfortable doing it.
    pretty much a shift kit - drilled seperator plate passages and spring changes. nothing new.
    go for it.
    sent from my rotary phone using Technicolor

2004 SILVER BIRCH/BLACK PAINT
    DARK CHARCOAL NUDO LEATHER
    #400 of 997 (SOLD)

2004 CV LX SPORT
    ALL BLACK, 6 DISC, TUNED MZT (SOLD)

2004 300A MM BLACK
    1 OWNER CAR, NO OPTIONS