Page 1 of 14 1234567811 ... LastLast

Thread: Going Turbo LS or Turbo 4v stock motor.....info inside.

Going Turbo LS or Turbo 4v stock motor.....info inside.

Hi! As many of you know, I'm new to the Forum and Marauder scene. However, I'm not new to hotrodding or modifications. I'm a technician at the Blue Oval dealer by trade and absolutely love my hobby building and racing cars.

A few of you might know me from my last project, a Turbocharged '97 Crown Vic with a 6.0L Chevy motor/trans:

http://www.crownvic.net/ubbthreads/u...Number=2597468

I've since acquired a Marauder.....and am contemplating doing the same swap as my Vic with this one. Now, many of you are screaming.....WHY not turbo the stock 4v motor??? Well, simply put, I made nearly 600 rear wheel HP from a $600 salvage yard engine with the LS setup, which is fairly common, and drove it for 2 years that way before selling it.

I had posted the question of how much can a stock 4v Marauder engine handle, and it seems the concensus was around 500 rear wheel hp is on borrowed time.

But, I kind of had a quell with that. I have several friends who race with me, and one of them has a stock 2v 5.4L Lightning running north of 600 rear wheel hp with a Kenne Bell/supporting mods, for 6 years running now. Being a Ford tech, I'm well aware the lightning motor is a stock 5.4L with different pistons, it's not forged like it's Cobra counterpart is.....

So, knowing this, in all honesty, if this stock motor can make 600 RWHP......I too believe I'm better off keeping it and going all Blue Oval on this build, but I need some expert opinions and some with experience in boosting the stock 4v 4.6L.

I'm not interested in swapping it for a Cobra motor, or putting much of any money into the stock Marauder engine, as the cost to make the Ford setup viable vs. the LS isn't negotiable here simply due to the fact I can get an LS in here on the cheap and offset most of the costs simply by selling the stock Marauder engine.