PDA

View Full Version : Kooks headers installed...my story.

FiveO
08-13-2004, 05:50 PM
Well gang.....I just walked in the door about a 1/2 hour ago. I'm absolutely beat. Worked (and watched) in the shop all day with the mechanic.

The shop I went has like 7-8 mechanics and they do general work....but they also do work on my departments squad cars so they're cutting me a break on labor and let me watch and even help out.

The guy working on my car is a self taught mechanic...26 years old...and he's a surgeon with his tools.

He is meticulous and complete.

He put in the PI Torque Converter in the morning....went in without any problems. Book says 4.8 hours and he had it done in like 3.

The headers were a pain...!!!! But we finally did get them both in.

Couple minor problems overcome with patience and expertise along with printouts from other threads on the Kooks install.

First off....let me say that these headers are tight....both in looks and fit.

They fit perfectly. They're isn't much room for anything else!

He did not take the battery out but did pull both leads and tape them off to make sure no connections were made (dealing with the starter, etc.).

We decided to start with the right side....as it looked much more difficult. It seemingly was until the left side showed its ugly head with the dipstick problem...and one tough nut to tighten.

Couple things....

He took the starter out altogether. Also both front wheels were taken off. The right for a bolt or two and the left for the EGR bolt. Mine was a bit tight and he needed more room...worked out well.

The engine was loosened from the motor mounts and was jacked up here and there to make the fit....much easier.

We re-used the gaskets...on both sides. He even put a Permatex Copper gasket high temp sealant on each gasket to assure the fit. Came out perfectly.

The right bolts were a PITA...but he got at them all....no major problems. We did end up shaving the end off of one stud on the right side.