PDA

View Full Version : Remote Start...Won't!!

martyo
03-23-2003, 07:20 PM
I have a Ford (dealer installed) remote start. Today it stopped working. When I try to start the car, it locks the doors and flashes the lights, and the Climate Control system cycles, but the car does not start.

I disconnected the battery to try to cycle the system with no luck.

The car will start with the key.

Any thoughts??

LincMercLover
03-23-2003, 09:00 PM
Did you try hitting the lock door button instead? :lol:

No, I dunno... I have no experience with those things. BUT, if it's dealer installed, I see no reason to take it to them and let them figure it out. Did it ever work before, or did it JUST start doing this?

martyo
03-23-2003, 09:07 PM
I tried pressing every combination of buttons on the remote key fob (I even tried the other fob), all with no luck.

I agree that this may become an issue for the dealer to repair, but I was trying to avoid a trip to the Black Hole.......

Bigdogjim
03-23-2003, 09:10 PM
martyo: Hey I have that system in my MM. No problem like you are having. Just call the dealer and get it in the shop ASAP. These things can cause a spike and damage other systems. This will happen only if it was installed wrong. Should be an easy fix. Keep posted..
Big Dog

MMpridenjoy
03-24-2003, 09:32 PM
Hope it gets straight for ya Marty!

martyo
03-24-2003, 09:36 PM
Dealer gets the car on Thursday. I get a loaner. Stay tuned......

RCSignals
03-24-2003, 09:56 PM
If it's a Ford accessory installed by the dealer it may get covered under the bumper to bumper warranty for the full three years I was told

martyo
03-25-2003, 03:38 AM
That's my understanding as well. Let's just hope that the dealer agrees!! In any event its all of six weeks old; they "should" cover it.

prchrman
03-25-2003, 04:54 AM
quote,
Dealer gets the car on Thursday. I get a loaner. Stay tuned......

Maybe you will get a fast car...Sable wagon...:rolleyes:

martyo
03-27-2003, 05:23 PM