PDA

View Full Version : Tire talk

Mad4Macs
12-12-2005, 03:33 PM
Meant to ask this earlier...

Those of us that have full-sized spares, have a front tire mounted in the trunk
(found out the hard way, I had a blow out this morning).
Given that we're also equipped with limited slip axles, does this make sense? I'm no expert, but it seems to me that having a spare rear tire would be more useful.
If you need a rear tire, and you've just thrown a front tire in back, wouldn't that cause problems for the differential?
Or, is it worse to have mounted one rear tire up front?
For me, it worked out ok, because I needed a front tire and I had a full sized spare, but it got me thinking... and thinking makes my head spin.
:lol:

TripleTransAm
12-12-2005, 03:49 PM
You are correct. It would make more sense to have a rear tire.

Why didn't they think of this, you ask? Because although they can bump up the MSRP of this car by $5000 for no reason, adding $30-$40 extra to the car's MSRP by including a bigger spare tire would be a no-no.

When you figure out the logic behind that one, let me know 'cause I can't figure it out either.

RF Overlord
12-12-2005, 04:40 PM
This is one of the exceedingly few times when I disagree with /Steve...I think having the front size as a spare makes sense (well, at least more sense than those foolish mini-spares). My reasoning is thus: having 2 differently-sized tires on the front might result in peculiar handling/braking during some crucial emergency-type manoeuvre, while having 2 differently-sized tires on the REAR may be somewhat less noticeable, hence "safer" for the average American driver, whom we all know is atrocious.

To answer Mad4Macs' second question: yes, it will play havoc with the Trak-Lok clutches. I read somewhere that Ford recommended not driving with the spare on the rear for more than (something like) 35 miles total. Maybe someone else can confirm this...

MENINBLK
12-12-2005, 04:56 PM