PDA

View Full Version : Electro-Static Discharge

Blue Marauder
04-13-2003, 11:38 AM
Just curious.

Are any of you that have installed ships in your computer familiar with electro-static discharge (ESD)? If so, do you take any precautions to prevent it like working on a grounded work bench and wearing a grounding bracelet? Or do you just set the computer on something and work away?

Has anybody zapped a computer or chip due to ESD? If so, how did you get a replacement for it?

Sorry. I'm an engineer and I worry about stuff like this.

RF Overlord
04-13-2003, 11:54 AM
Blue:

You bring up a very good point...there are a few of us here that deal with ESD in our jobs; me, gja, & CRUZTAKER, just to name a few. I was careful not to wear rubber-soled shoes, and not walk across the carpet on my way to the kitchen table...but to answer your question, no I didn't take ESD-specific measures like you mentioned. I did avoid handling the new chip, and left it in its anti-static bag until immediately before installation. I haven't heard of any real problems related to ESD on either this board or CVN, so the ECM must be fairly rugged...

CRUZTAKER
04-13-2003, 12:30 PM
RF: Mine came in a small zip-lock clear plastic baggie....DEFINATELY NOT ESD. I'd get fired if I got caught shovin' a board in a zip-lock.

It's mentioned in one of my threads in regard to the RPC chip shipping and installation ( The product I utilize). I am an installer/engineer for SBC and AT-T, and am not only aware, but attended classes and received certifications on ESD safety.

I was only able to sway a couple members, the rest, including the supplier on our end, did not seem to be concerned. The end.

Since you brought it up...allow me to reiterate:

I was appalled at the fact that my chip was shipped loose in a card board box, in a plastic baggie, with paper and other material including a thermostat and 8 spark plugs.