PDA

View Full Version : I've Given Up On A Chip

Ross
05-15-2003, 09:55 AM
Well Fellows, after talking to several chip makers, and being ready to order a chip, I got under my dash and spent 30 minutes trying to remove the plastic panel that hides the computer. After finally breaking the panel trying to pull the plastic "screws" out, I got a look at the computer (extremely rusty). Now look, I'm a really small guy, but there is no way I will have room to maneuver around in that space to try to perform a new remove/replace without breaking something, or not getting things in the way they are supposed to be. I keep hearing people on this board talk about how easy this is supposed to be. Do y'all have trained miniature monkeys to climb around up there for you? I'm not a mechanic, but I'm not totally inept either. In the old days before cars had computers (yeah, I'm that old) I did all of the standard tune ups, oil changes, brake work, replacing starters, alternators, etc., so this isn't my first time to work on a car. I just think I'm in way over my head on this one. Someone please tell me that I'm not the only one who had trouble with this.:help:

Paul T. Casey
05-15-2003, 09:57 AM
There's info on this site that has photo's of how to do it. Looks pretty simple.

Paul T. Casey
05-15-2003, 10:06 AM
Go to "reviews" on top of page, then select Aftermarket chip installation." Logan did a great job here!

MAD-3R
05-15-2003, 10:21 AM
I wil admit that it was a pain, but wasn't imposable, and I am that big.

Did you say the computer was "Rusty?" If it was, then there maybe some leak, or something. The case of the computer is aluminum, and if it has rust on it it came from somewhere else. I would take it to the dealer, and if they ask why you were under there, tell them you saw a drip and was investigating it, and thats what you found.

Macon Marauder
05-15-2003, 11:04 AM