PDA

View Full Version : Just perused the Flush or not to flush thread

SlkMerc
10-03-2006, 11:50 AM
Hey all,

Been away too long. I build waterfalls for a living and business has been booming. To my question:

I have an 03-300A that I bought with 56k on it. I had the oil and filter changed immediately for peace of mind. I now have 60k on her and I have been asking around on the trans flush topic. I have no idea when the last trans fluid change was. The T/F smells ok and isnt all nasty and I am real big on maintenance. Can I get a revised poll? Flush or no flush? Should I ask what method the shop I pick uses?

Thanks Dudes,:help:
Donnie

Bradley G
10-03-2006, 11:53 AM
I'd say drop the pan.
You can tell alot by examining the content(s) of the trans pan.

ctrlraven
10-03-2006, 11:59 AM
I was in the same boat you are in now. I bought my 04 used with 40k on it and in 10 months I've put 18k on it. I ordered a Art Carr deep tranny pan and will replace the pan and filter, then take to a F/L/M dealer and have them flush it.

Breadfan
10-03-2006, 12:06 PM
I'd say you are pushing it with a flush, it may depend on the condition of the fluid, like Bradley said dropping the pan may help decide.

Flushes should be around 30k...around 50k is probably still OK but I'll let others chime in.

The main concern as I've heard is that as the fluid ages you will get a buildup of varnishes if not flushed regularly. A flush is a more violent way of changing fluid then letting gravity do the job - but it also get ALL the fluid out whereas a pan drop does not.

The problem is sometimes the inrush of fluid from the flush will cause built up deposits to be knocked loose and they can remain in the transmission and clog up a line causing a failure.