PDA

View Full Version : Honeymoon Soon; Need new camera

arejayesss
04-16-2008, 04:01 PM
I've had a Canon Powershot A520 for a few years now, and I think with the impending honeymoon I should upgrade. The canon has served me well, and still works good, but lately it seems like it burns through AA batteries like our cars burn through gas:eek: I don't know if this is a characteristic of aging digital cameras, but in addition the pics are not as clear as I would like them. I am not an expert AT ALL when it comes to cameras. I don't need any fancy schmancy (sp?) camera. Sure it would be nice to have a DSR or DSL whatever, but I don't want to break the bank. What would you guys suggest for me?

CRUZTAKER
04-16-2008, 04:15 PM
If you are partial to Cannon, I am sure someone will recommend an entry level DSLR pretty soon.

If you are open to other manufacturers, I have suggestions, but will hold for the moment. ;)

arejayesss
04-16-2008, 04:27 PM
I'm as open as my throttle at the race track. The canon was a christmas gift from my mother a few years back. Prior to that, I had a sony ? that actually held a floppy disk (3.5" I think) inside it. So let me have it, open up the floodgates.:banana:

Breadfan
04-16-2008, 05:54 PM
I gave some advice in this thread: http://www.mercurymarauder.net/forums/showthread.php?t=43257

I think Impslayer got a good camera with the S5.

If you can't got dSLR something like that is a very nice camera.

If you can/want to go dSLR, there's a ton out there. I do like my Nikon D40 entry level, it's not the best but I've gotten some good shots with it. On the Canon side the Rebel XTi is real nice for entry level.

If you want a pocket camera the Canon's are nice as are the thin/small Casio elixims.

Breadfan
04-16-2008, 05:55 PM