PDA

View Full Version : factory amp inputs?

blackhueys
05-25-2008, 09:09 AM
Was wondering if I can use the left and right factory inputs to the amp as high level inputs for an aftermarket amp or not? Does anybody know or done this? thanks, scott

kartherma
05-25-2008, 10:03 AM
Scott,
I am not an expert by any use of the word, but there is a posting that describes using the factory inputs in an after-market utilization.

It a lengthy posting that discusses how to install a specific set up, but the info there is applicable to your question I think...

http://www.mercurymarauder.net/reviews/showproduct.php/product/35/sort/2/cat/14/page/1

hope this helps!
be good
curt

blackhueys
05-25-2008, 10:30 AM
thanks the factory amp sub setup sucks at least to me lol.

magindat
05-27-2008, 05:43 AM
That post is WRONG!!!!!

Do not use rear factory speaker signal as a SUB input. It is crossed over for high pass and WILL NOT provide a subwoofer signal.

There is a mono true subwoofer signal in the harness.

Identify your +12 and -12 with a mulit meter (red and yellow, I believe). then ID the +5 trigger by probing the harness with + on meter, keeping - on meter to -12V (radio on). Other two will be +/- BALANCED signal. Wire directly to RCA plug and add splitter if necessary.

Test sound. If 'muddy', then RCA tip and sheild are backward (out of phase). Switch them.

Pops
05-27-2008, 06:16 AM
Listen to Rich as he is correct.

kartherma
05-27-2008, 06:23 AM
Magindat,
I must first state the most obvious...I am not an expert on this

but...

I went ahead yesterday and added a few components to my marauder.

I dropped in a 1000w Rockford Fosgate amp with two 10inch JLW6 subs and a 1Farad Cap.
I used a converter in the process also.

I took the left and right rear deck signal and sent it to the adapter and that converted it to the RCA inputs for my amp.