PDA

View Full Version : alright, this is my first time, so advice is awesome

offroadking208
09-29-2008, 05:04 PM
Ok guys, this friday i am going to the strip for the first time. Any advice on achieving the best 1/4 mile times? I know about loading the suspension, but dont have a tach so it is just kinda guess work, but any advice is great.
Thanks mucho,
J. Hubbard

justbob
09-29-2008, 05:23 PM
1 do at least one John Force burnout to get it out of your system
2 Leave at last yellow
3 don't let off
4 enjoy

Just lots of practice.

offroadking208
09-29-2008, 05:31 PM
lol, i will keep those in mind. Any requirements or does that depend on the track? Its an amateur night so idk if ill need a helmet or anything fun like that. I know long pants are a good idea from what ive read, don't run the A/C because it'll drip on the track and get everything slick, avoid the water/bleach pit because street tires will pick it up and make the tires slick and wet the track down.

TJCOX
09-29-2008, 06:09 PM
No tank tops @ O.R.P. if this is where you're racing! Remove spare tire?
Traction compound helps if the track applies it.
Good Luck!

Green96
09-29-2008, 06:09 PM
Don't give him all the secrets, I am thinking of taking the Thunderturd.

fastblackmerc
09-29-2008, 06:38 PM
A/C off
T/C off
O/D off
Windows up
Any extra weight leave in the pits
1/4 to 1/2 tank of gass
You can remove the left headlight for more airflow
Street tires = no burnout box, go around it and do a short burnout to clean the tires
Power brake up to 2400 - 2800RPM to flash / load the converter
When the yellow light goes off floor it

Good Luck!

justbob
09-29-2008, 06:43 PM