PDA

View Full Version : Noob: What's it take to be a consistant 13.5??

Merc4Hire
01-27-2009, 09:57 PM
Assuming I'm a decent driver, what mods would put me at a consistant 13.5 second 1/4 mile on street tires?

My plans are headers, high flow catted h-pipe, reinhart SCT tune, 4:10's,

maybe underdrive pulleys...though people seem to say bad things now and then, something with the harmonic balancer & oil pump?

What are the bare essentials to put me there?:help:

Merc4Hire
01-28-2009, 07:35 AM
...anybody?

Pops
01-28-2009, 07:38 AM
Headers good tune underdrive pulleys 410 gears and a host of other things. Look for the 12 second NA thread that is going on. It will give you a lot of insight. 13.5 is not easy to do!:)

SC Cheesehead
01-28-2009, 08:12 AM
Headers good tune underdrive pulleys 410 gears and a host of other things. Look for the 12 second NA thread that is going on. It will give you a lot of insight. 13.5 is not easy to do!:)

+1 ^^^^^

Probably need a T/C, and something other than street radials.

John, what were you running in the GM before going PE; high 13's?

Pops
01-28-2009, 08:38 AM
13.51 was the best Rex. Yes you will need a converter. Mine is a 3200.

Vortech347
01-28-2009, 09:55 AM
No worries about the UPD's and the oil pump. The problem was in the 5-speed mach's. The harmonics were to great for the aftermarket pulley's to dampen when the engine was spun past 6800rpm. I don't really think an MM should spin past 6300-6400 so you'll be fine.

Btw, I recommend the summit racing kit. Its cheap and the ballancer has ALOT of beef/material than the steeda ones. I'm running it on my wife's car and its awesome. I have a steeda on mine.

Blackened300a
01-28-2009, 09:58 AM
Assuming I'm a decent driver, what mods would put me at a consistant 13.5 second 1/4 mile on street tires?

Some $$ and some luck. Pretty much every bolt-on including, pulley's, full exhaust, intake, gears, intake spacer, a convertor, then have a really good tune.