Page 5 of 5 FirstFirst 12345
Results 61 to 71 of 71

Thread: Avic-D3 / Sub / Amp / Speakers / XM Install

  1. #61
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Somewhere in the N.C. Triangle
    Age
    63
    Posts
    25,811
    What about on the rear deck? Maybe along side the hi mount stop light or inside the housing?
    “When you can’t make them see the light, make them feel the heat.”
    Ronald Regan

    "The only way to deal with the Islamic State - these blood thirsty, blood-drunken, terrorists -
    is to kill them, keep on killing them, until you kill the last one, then you kill his pet goat."

    Lt. Colonel Ralph Peters

    “Be polite, be professional, but have a plan to kill everybody you meet.”
    "I come in peace. I didn't bring artillery. But I'm pleading with you, with tears in my eyes, if you **** with me, I'll kill you all"
    General James Mattis




  2. #62
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    South Haven, Mich.
    Age
    67
    Posts
    6,071
    I will no more on this later Rich. I have had it on the dash and on the third tail lamp and had issues either way.
    [SIGPIC]

  3. #63
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    The Pitt, PA
    Age
    48
    Posts
    7,021
    Quote Originally Posted by fastblackmerc View Post
    What about on the rear deck? Maybe along side the hi mount stop light or inside the housing?
    Would work, but you'd be screwed going south. The rear windshield is not as sloped as the front and allows even less angle to 'get out from under' the roof for the signal. There is certainly more than enough wire for it, though!
    Magindat: (majin-dat) Imagine That.
    2013 Ford Taurus SHO

    Lemonade - living with Fruit Punch - in Blackmobile's Garage...
    FIT Procharger Kit #31 - 3.7 pulley - 9 PSI
    World's first BLOW THRU ProCharged Marauder - Reinhart Tuned

    #1649
    boi

  4. #64
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    South Haven, Mich.
    Age
    67
    Posts
    6,071
    You got it! Tried it going to Atlanta with each set up and thats what happened.
    [SIGPIC]

  5. #65
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    The Pitt, PA
    Age
    48
    Posts
    7,021
    Here are the Sirius and XM elevations for various points in the US.
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Magindat: (majin-dat) Imagine That.
    2013 Ford Taurus SHO

    Lemonade - living with Fruit Punch - in Blackmobile's Garage...
    FIT Procharger Kit #31 - 3.7 pulley - 9 PSI
    World's first BLOW THRU ProCharged Marauder - Reinhart Tuned

    #1649
    boi

  6. #66
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    The Pitt, PA
    Age
    48
    Posts
    7,021
    In this picture, for the antenna on the passenger dash:

    Sirius in Miami would be close to good and may only experience occasional outages (yellow).

    Sirius in Detroit would have an even easier time of it. (red)

    XM in Seattle would SUCK! (blue)



    This is a SUPER OVER-SIMPLIFIED drawing for the sake of discussion so keep your flames to yourself!!!

    We could get into the true azimuth angle vs the Zenith of the antenna... blah blah. Keep it simple..

    OOH. That gives me an idea. When we place the antenna on the passenger dash, the wire trails to the right. if we trailed the wire forward or toward the rear of the car would it make any difference. I'd think not since I'd have confidence in Pioneer putting out an antenna with a fairly round Zenith. It's worth a try, though. Ryan?
    Magindat: (majin-dat) Imagine That.
    2013 Ford Taurus SHO

    Lemonade - living with Fruit Punch - in Blackmobile's Garage...
    FIT Procharger Kit #31 - 3.7 pulley - 9 PSI
    World's first BLOW THRU ProCharged Marauder - Reinhart Tuned

    #1649
    boi

  7. #67
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Bonita Springs, Fl.
    Age
    41
    Posts
    879
    Quote Originally Posted by magindat View Post
    It's worth a try, though. Ryan?
    Yesssir, I shall do this. It does make sense and I have thought of this in the past, but never executed the plan. Like I have stated before, I have ample wire to relocate. Hey, maybe I could cut a 2" x 3" hole in the roof and mount the antenna there. I could put a piece of glass on to cover it, it would be the worlds smallest sunroof, and allow better transmittal of signals. I'll be right back, I need to get my sawzall...............

    2003 300A BLACK DD
    Sequence # 4569 of 7839

    Silver Inserts / K&N CAI / Drilled - Slotted Rotors
    DR Xcal2/Under drive pulleys (thank Rich)/180 T-stat
    EMP water pump / Denso irridiums (thanx Rich)
    Diamond Plate Radiator Cover and Air Dam, made by and broken in by magindat.
    Custom Embroidered SB Head Rests (Thanx Rich & Rex)
    Running with no mufflers, makes me sound fast!!

    Upgraded Sound System (John's Stereo)
    -Pioneer AVIC-D3 w/ XM & iPod
    -Pioneer Premier Speakers
    -MTX TC3001 Amp
    -MTX 10" Sub w/ Custom Box and LEDs (magindat)
    adopted 6/12/07 - 20,956 Miles
    SOLD 2/23/13 - 73,286
    Contemplating a battery handle delete

  8. #68
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    South Haven, Mich.
    Age
    67
    Posts
    6,071
    Ryan go ahead and do that so we can call you bubble head!
    [SIGPIC]

  9. #69
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Colorado
    Age
    61
    Posts
    617
    Thanks for the responses.

    Speaking of roof - what would it take to mount the antennae on the roof? Can the wire be routed out the bottom of the antenna, so that only a small wire size hole would do?

    Another option? - can two antennae be used, with one on the dash and one near the thrid brake light, such that when one is blocked the other isn't? I'm not sure, but I suspect the XM or Sirius won't mind two antenna, but the GPS might not like two unless the radio is set up to recognize two antennae.

    Chip
    Last edited by Windsor58; 03-22-2008 at 12:16 PM.

  10. #70
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    South Haven, Mich.
    Age
    67
    Posts
    6,071
    Only one antenna. You can route the antenna wire under the windshield mldg and put the antenna on the roof. We put most of them there.
    [SIGPIC]

  11. #71
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Long Island New York
    Posts
    440
    I just (2 weeks ago) installed the Avic-F90BT,question,.. how important is it to connect the speed sensor wire ? The local stereo shop I asked said no big deal ? It works perfectly without it connected so far as I can tell....

    Just curious, thanks....

    Super writeup by the way







    Quote Originally Posted by magindat View Post
    and the magic is revealed....



    14 is the speed sensor and 18 is the signal from the steering wheel remote.

    The rest are color coded to match your radio harness if you purchase an adapter harness.

    For all AVIC models... DO NOT connect any illumination (orange or orange/white) wires. AVICs have an automatic light sensor built in.
    current owner of 2004 Trilogy #45 (since 2009)

    and just added the POPPAJ Silver Birch to the fleet
    (8-2010)

    Yes I am hooked

Page 5 of 5 FirstFirst 12345

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Avic D3 install comments...
    By magindat in forum Pops Stereo
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 05-21-2007, 06:20 AM
  2. 6 speakers 1 amp question.....
    By Heavy351 in forum The Lounge
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 06-01-2004, 01:45 PM
  3. Subwoofer amp installation - with pics
    By HwyCruiser in forum Shop Talk
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 03-14-2004, 08:17 PM
  4. Some amp install tips
    By ultravorx in forum Community Discussion
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-03-2003, 02:58 PM
  5. Anyone install aftyermarket sub and amp?
    By Brutus in forum Shop Talk
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-03-2003, 01:42 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •