Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Mr Man's musings

Mr Man's musings

I'm going to do my reviews of new and maybe used cars here in this thread instead of the Makeshift shoutbox.

Let start off by saying I am not a professional reviewer and this is my opinion.

So.. as some of you know from the Makeshift Shoutbox that I occasionally transfer cars for my local Ford dealer. They also have a Chrysler,Jeep, Dodge,Ram dealership but as of today I have only swapped for Ford.

Today they needed a 2011 Focus to go to Pa and in return I brought back a 2001 Fiesta.

My thoughts are as follows in no particular order.

2011 Ford Focus SE 2.0l engine, 4 sp auto.

Wasn't expecting much here as it was your basic commuter car but I must admit I was pleasantly surprised with the Focus. I had forgotten how much fun a front wheel drive car could be in the snow (we had snow today 2-3 in). The engine was plenty peppy and I needed to remind myself that this was not my car and mashing the gas to pull out of a slush induced drift could result in damages. The 4sp auto was adequate but if optioned I'd have gone for a 5-sp manual.
    The car started out a suede white color and was handed over to the Pa dealer a slush brown. Hope they have lots of soap.
    The general appearance of the car is pleasing if not a bit nondescript. It's a commuter car.
    The interior was roomier than I expected. Let me also preface here that I am not a small person 6'2" in the morning and over 300#. I found there to be more than enough head room and getting in and out was uneventful. Leg room to the pedals was short for me but if you are under 6' and of a more normal body size I think it would be acceptable for commuting. Room for 5 is a pipe dream and I want what ever the advertising team for Ford is smoking. Realistically 2 adults in the front and 2 pre-teens in the back for anything over a 10 minute ride.