Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Pro Racer - Torque Converter & TC Lockup Schedule

Lightbulb Pro Racer - Torque Converter & TC Lockup Schedule

Pro Racer has a TON of settings that affect the transmission torque converter! Because I couldn't find a lot of information online about this while tuning my Marauder and had to play with it to learn it myself, I wanted to post about it here for everyone's benefit.

Foremost, here's my disclaimer: I am NOT an expert. I've owned Pro Racer since June. I've owned my Marauder for under two years.
    However I have an extensive history of safely "tuning" computers (overclocking) and being able to tweak my Marauder in the same fashion is a dream come true for me (I'll post on spark advance in the future).

Anyway, I'll post about my learning experiences, whether I learned correctly or not, and you're welcome to give your feedback and point out if I'm blatantly off. But be cautious if you're doing your own tweaking!

Do you ever notice when you're driving that sometime your car will do a very soft "half shift?" You'll see a drop in engine RPM and a drop in power, even if you didn't move the pedal, even if accelerating at WOT. What you are seeing here is actually your Torque Converter "locking up."

Torque Converters nowadays have a feature called lockup which creates a firm mechanical connection between the engine and the transmission, bypassing fluid-driven transfer of power that normally occurs inside the TC. Lockup is intended to be done at higher RPM's when the TC is no longer multiplying torque (~stall speed) and during steady cruise to avoid wastage and heat buildup due to the fluid-based transfer of power. When the TC is locked up, you can have a ~100% transfer of power between the engine and the rest of the driveline - which means more efficient power when accelerating and more efficient engine braking.

Here's what the SCT Advantage III documentation has to say about TC lockup (I crossed out the unimportant text).