Thread: Subwoofer amp installation - with pics

Post Subwoofer amp installation - with pics

First, let me warn you that I'm not a professional car audio installer, so please don't read these as installation instructions. Second, let me offer that this installation was neither quick nor easy (most likely due to the first point made). But if you're like me, where you're willing and confident enough to tackle yourself rather than paying someone else to screw something like this up, read on.

The most difficult step in this process is drilling a hole through the firewall to pass the amplifier's power wire through. Beyond that, get ready to spend some quality time sitting in the trunk and slumped over the engine compartment and driver's side floor board. There was also a problem with the OEM head unit's remote amp signal not working with the amp I chose covered at the end of this post.

Here's the money shot:

I really need to get back in and tidy up the wiring a bit.

I chose to go with a Rockford Fosgate Punch 201S 2-channel amp to drive the 6.5" Punch HE RFP4404 subwoofer I previously installed in the OEM enclosure. The 201S is rated for 200W continuous power to a bridged 4 Ohm load. It takes a 10 gauge power wire fused to 20 amps. To each his or her own on the equipment, just be mindful in selecting the appropriate power wire and fuse for the amp.

You will need about 22 feet of power wire to get from the battery to the location in the trunk I chose to install the amp. A 17 foot kit will leave you stranded under the back seat like I was. Oh well, I have a soldered and insulated pump splice that only we know about. Lesson #1: Order plenty of power wire.