MercuryMarauder.net Forums    

Go Back   MercuryMarauder.net Forums > The Garage > Suspension & Brakes

Suspension & Brakes Post your discussions about suspension, shocks, control arms and brakes here!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-19-2017, 07:50 AM
Henry Henry is offline
Member
 

Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Pittsburgh, Pa
Posts: 69
Trader: (1)
Bad ABS Module?

I have a 2003 300a I've been chasing as abs light on. The code is for the right rear speed sensor circuit fault. After a lot of searching and investigating with a multimeter and have discovered that the abs module is not putting out the necessary 5 volts to the sensor to the right rear sensor (checked at the abs module plug). Has anybody else experienced something similar? I have a complete abs unit off another 300a on the shelf, just making sure that there isn't some other possible solution before i take the time to switch the pump out and bleed the brakes with the scan tool.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-19-2017, 08:02 AM
stevengerard stevengerard is offline
Senior Member
 

Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Chicago
Age: 53
Posts: 2,376
Trader: (0)
Can you just change the electronic control by itself instead of disconnecting the whole module? I have an 04 with TC and have the same issue. Mine has not been working for a few years now. So long that the TC and ABS light doesn't even go on anymore. Once in a while they will both illuminate but usually stay off. I too plan on swaping out the module but I may try to just change the electronics, not sure if that can easily be done though.
__________________
Steven

2004 Marauder Black, loaded
Vortec S/C
4.10s
3500 PI Stall
Kook's headers
476.9 rwhp 385 lbs/tq
KVR's, QA1's, M&Z control arms, rear sway bar
Lidio tune
2004 Suburban Dark Charcoal
1970 W-30 442 convertible twilight Blue
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-19-2017, 08:44 AM
Zack's Avatar
Zack Zack is offline
Turbo Marauder
 

Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: St. John, IN
Age: 39
Posts: 14,011
Trader: (39)
Did you verify the ABS module is getting proper voltage?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-19-2017, 10:30 AM
Henry Henry is offline
Member
 

Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Pittsburgh, Pa
Posts: 69
Trader: (1)
I have not checked voltage to the module yet as i do not have the wiring diagram and had to stop last night before i got that far. I will check that when i get home. I was also wondering if anybody has ever switched just the electronics. I believe i have a low mileage abs unit off a marquis I might sacrifice in order to figure out if its possible.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-19-2017, 11:12 AM
Zack's Avatar
Zack Zack is offline
Turbo Marauder
 

Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: St. John, IN
Age: 39
Posts: 14,011
Trader: (39)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Henry View Post
I have not checked voltage to the module yet as i do not have the wiring diagram and had to stop last night before i got that far. I will check that when i get home. I was also wondering if anybody has ever switched just the electronics. I believe i have a low mileage abs unit off a marquis I might sacrifice in order to figure out if its possible.
They are different. The marauder abs unit is programmed for staggered sized tires
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-19-2017, 03:55 PM
Henry Henry is offline
Member
 

Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Pittsburgh, Pa
Posts: 69
Trader: (1)
I checked voltage at the module key on, engine off. 11.6 volts. Battery is at 11.62. Guess I'm off to my storage building to grab a few modules and see what I can figure out.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-19-2017, 11:42 PM
old timer's Avatar
old timer old timer is offline
Junior Member
 

Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: New Lenox IL
Age: 29
Posts: 21
Trader: (0)
You can swap only the electrical portion of the abs module without a problem. No brake bleeding required. You will run into an issue if you use a grand marquis module on your marauder unless you have the same size tire all the way around.

Sent from my SM-N910V using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-20-2017, 05:17 AM
Henry Henry is offline
Member
 

Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Pittsburgh, Pa
Posts: 69
Trader: (1)
I plugged in an extra module I had off a 300a. I now have power to the sensor. I'm gonna swap the electronics when I get a chance and it should be good to go.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-20-2017, 05:08 PM
Spectragod's Avatar
Spectragod Spectragod is offline
Willing to meet up half way
 

Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: OH
Age: 15
Posts: 8,180
Trader: (44)
Module master can rebuild your old unit fairly reasonable. And yes, the electronics can be changed out easily, you will possibly run into issues with the tire stagger.
__________________
I LOVE Jerry's bar, it's my kinda place...........






When you are dead, you donít know you are dead. It is difficult only for others. It is the same way when you are stupid.

"Chuck Norris built my stock longblock. It runs on the tears of small children and makes 10,000 hp. He said it's his 'street version' "


Trilogy # 192 / T.S. 0012

BOOST GETS YOU FELONY STOPPED!!!




Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-20-2017, 05:24 PM
Henry Henry is offline
Member
 

Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Pittsburgh, Pa
Posts: 69
Trader: (1)
I have my spare marauder one ready to put on. I will be sending the damaged module out to be repaired and it can sit on the shelf in case I ever need it.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 04-20-2017, 08:08 PM
stevengerard stevengerard is offline
Senior Member
 

Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Chicago
Age: 53
Posts: 2,376
Trader: (0)
WHo did you find to repair it. The places I contacted said no to the Marauder module.
__________________
Steven

2004 Marauder Black, loaded
Vortec S/C
4.10s
3500 PI Stall
Kook's headers
476.9 rwhp 385 lbs/tq
KVR's, QA1's, M&Z control arms, rear sway bar
Lidio tune
2004 Suburban Dark Charcoal
1970 W-30 442 convertible twilight Blue
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 04-21-2017, 04:32 PM
Mightypeter Mightypeter is offline
Junior Member
 

Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 5
Trader: (0)
Me too ---

I'm looking for a place that will repair my ABS unit -- same issues as others are having in this thread. Do you know who does this work?

Peter
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 04-21-2017, 07:55 PM
Henry Henry is offline
Member
 

Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Pittsburgh, Pa
Posts: 69
Trader: (1)
I'm going to see if myairbags.com can repair it. They have abs module repair listed on their website for 100-150 depending on the type. I've used them for resetting air bag sensors several times. Very good customer service and quick turn around.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Joke of the day SergntMac The Lounge 2596 09-13-2017 06:57 AM
Abs module dsmspick Suspension & Brakes 20 11-24-2016 01:08 PM
BAD News for me LeviEA Community Discussion 24 01-10-2006 08:07 PM
How to fry the driver side master control module Donny Carlson Shop Talk 6 08-07-2003 02:06 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:44 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2002 - 2017 - MercuryMarauder.net