MercuryMarauder.net Forums    


  Home · Search · Member List · Register  

Statistics
Users 4,431
Products 48
Reviews 75
Views 565,534

December 2018
SunMon TueWed ThuFri Sat
      1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031     

Top Posters
MM03MOK 5
Petrograde 4
fastblackmerc 4
Donny Carlson 3
2005Marauder 2

Most Viewed
Alignment Specs 39,544
Marauder Tire Choic... 38,490
Stainless Works Long... 30,002
SuperChargers for D... 23,594
K&N Aircharger f... 20,196

 
Home » Suspension » Wheels & Alignment  

Alignment Specs
Reviews Views Date of last review
10 39543
spacer
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers None indicated 10.0




Description: Courtesy of Carfixer

The inside edge wear of the front tires is caused by 2 things: negative camber and negative toe (toe out). Caster is not a tire wearing angle. The outside edge wear can be caused by excessive toe in and aggressive cornering.

Factory camber spec is -.5 degrees or- .75 degrees
Factory toe spec is -.15 degrees or- .20 degrees
(BTW, this info came from their website which is updated periodically and may differ from previously published material, such as cd's and paper manuals)

That means your alignment could have -1.25 degrees of camber and toe out of -.35 degrees and still be in the "green". This will wipe out the inside edges in <20K miles IMO.

All of the MM's I've aligned (about 10) had at least -1.0 degrees of camber and always toe out of -.10 degrees or more from the factory. That's why almost all MM's you see have excessive inside edge tire wear.

For best tire wear, here is what I use on all MM alignments:
Camber: 0 to -.3 degrees.*
Toe: Zero degrees.
Caster: 5-6.5 degrees positive with .3 degree lead on the right side.

*Camber can affect cornering feel. The more negative camber you have, the better it will handle corners. Most drivers will never feel the difference, especially on the street.
Keywords: alignment


Author
Post A Reply 
CodeMan
Wasteland Warrior


Registered: October 2008
Location: Spokane, WA
Posts: 80
Review Date: Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Money saver in the long run
Cons: none

Took my beast to the dealership to have the "New" alingment done. Low and behold, the tech already had the above mentioned specs in hand.....

------------------------------
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]


2003 (300A),18 % tint,Tune,
JLT CAI, Rear Pro-Guard,
SS inserts, 4:10's, Custom Grille (by Zack)
Steeda UDP's
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
bawazir
701 of 7839


Registered: December 2009
Location: Oakbrook, il
Posts: 2167
Review Date: Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: Not Indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Pros:
Cons:

got my new tires 2 days ago. and i will try those specs but just wondring mr carfixer were do u get this info from???????????????????

------------------------------
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
A legend quote a True Ride can not be no Rider without a Marauder
Finally Eatonized by ZackZillaaaaaaaaaaa!
Cardomain link: http://www.CarDomain.com/ride/3380944


A bank is a place that will lend you money if you can prove that you don't need it
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
MENINBLK
Lumbee Marauder


Registered: December 2003
Location: New York, USA
Posts: 3426
Review Date: Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros:
Cons:

I just replaced a set of KDWS on my Marauder after 25,000 miles.
The front tires could have gone another 5,000 miles
but why pay more for the labor ???

The last set of tires came off with Carfixer's front alignment
and the front tires showed only a slight outside edge wear,
with the wear evenly across measured from the wear bars.

The reare tires, of course, no matter what we do or say to BFG,
are still wearing from the center out.
GOD FORBID they fix this problem....
Air pressure adjustments save only a two - three thousand miles.

19" wheels open up some possibilities, but finding FORGED wheels
is difficult and expensive...

------------------------------
Pete...


2k9 BLACK Taurus X LTD AWD
2k8 SILVER Mercury Mountaineer Premier V8 AWD
2k4 BLACK Mercury Marauder 300A #810 of 3223
DOB 10/31/2003
DOP 1/2/2004
Water Wetter, K&N AirCharger/Drycharger, SS Inserts,
SilverStar 9007SU, WeatherTech WeatherFlectors, Steering Wheel Badge,
AutoMeter Gauges (Oil Press, Voltmeter, and Trans Oil Temp),
ASC 840 VSS Sunroof, Kenwood KFC-C6879ie x4, COBRA Fender Badges,
Z&M Rear Control Arms, FORD GT Coil Covers,
Gorilla Lock Lugs all around, Decklid Designs Trunk Lid Liner,
SCT Xcalibrator2 (Innovative Interceptors) w/Lidio's (Alternative Automotive) Marauder 3.55 tuning,
4R75W by Fred Brown's Performance Transmission, tuned to match Lidio's tune,
DG Motorsports Carbon Fiber Radiator Cover, Zack's Badgeless Grille,
Accel 140034-8 Coil Packs, Granatelli Motorsports Coil-On-Plug wires
Even though I walk through the valley of the shadow of rice,
I will fear no turbo for displacement is with me.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Visit MENINBLK's homepage! Find more posts by this user  
Tallboy
Say "when"...


Registered: May 2004
Location: Venice, Florida
Posts: 2401
Review Date: Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros:
Cons:

Great road feel. Even tire wear.

------------------------------
2003 Marauder 300A
Trilogy Supercharger Serial #0054
Installed by Carfixer 10/16/2004

<a href="http://www.mercurymarauder.net/forums/vbgarage.php?do=view&id=2249" >Tallboy's Garage</a>
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
SouLRioT
Preferred Member


Registered: May 2003
Location: South Fl
Posts: 1925
Review Date: Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros:
Cons:

All MMs should come from the factory with these specs.

------------------------------
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Visit SouLRioT's homepage! Find more posts by this user  
Bruce Wayne
Member


Registered: November 2005
Posts: 568
Review Date: Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: Not Indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Pros:
Cons:

I am going to take the batmobile to the neighborhood wrench tomorrow morning and have him set the alignment at the above specs. I probably won't get a lot of sleep tonite, Hopefully everything will go well, and will let you know the results. Front tires wearing on the outside edge, Back tires wear in the middle of the tread.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Review Date: Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Thanks
Cons: none

Three Mercury Dealers and no help, I find my answer here, Grrrreeeeeaaaattt
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
chucky
Childs Play


Registered: March 2005
Posts: 160
Review Date: Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: 100% better
Cons: As long as the tires wear right none

After 19K the front tires wore out the inside edges and rears wore from the centers out so all four got replaced I used these spec for the alignment & what a difference it handles and rides a whole lot better & Im confident they will wear more evenly thanks to my brother inlaw Anthony for putting up with me during this 2 Saturday event (long story)
AND THANKS TO CARFIXER FOR THE SPECS
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
murphypeople
Senior Member


Registered: February 2007
Location: Denver, Colorado
Posts: 136
Review Date: Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Value added
Cons: None known

I gave these specs to the guys at the Indy shop I use. The tech said he was impressed with the specs and had no trouble bringing the MM to them.
My MM was starting to show front tire inner wear. Seems to have stopped.
Thanks to you CARFIXER for sharing good info.

Tony

------------------------------
2003 Marauder 300A
Alternative Auto Performance Tune (2007-present) works great.
Great car...daily driver.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
HBTMD
Senior Member


Registered: July 2007
Location: Fresno & Las Vegas
Posts: 215
Review Date: Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: Not Indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Pros:
Cons:

I also had problems with excessive inner wear of the front tires. I took the specs from this form to my mechanic who is an alignment specialist. He checked the vehicle over and concluded that there was a problem with excessive toe out. He corrected it and the car handles more precisely now. Wear on my new BF Goodrich tires seems even so far.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  



Powered by: ReviewPost --REPLACEME--
Copyright 2005 All Enthusiast, Inc.


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:38 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2002 - 2017 - MercuryMarauder.net