Thread: Car falls flat on it's face @ 3200rpm

Car falls flat on it's face @ 3200rpm

Hey guys! I'm new to the MM community, but not new to cars. However, my experience with fuel injection is amatuer to say the least! So i have a question that has me perplexed and a little concerned. I have an early '03 MM, it has 70K miles on it, with no performance mods (YET!!). The problem I am experiencing is at WOT the car will run up to around 3200rpm then it'll "fall on it's face" and actually drop 100-200 rpm only to pick right back up and accelerate normally. Am i just experiencing the cam "opening up" or could this be a fuel delivery issue (e.g. pump cavitation or worse)? Thanks in advance for your help!

Josh

Have you changed your fuel filter yet ?

James Brown #140 "Say It Loud" Except in Bristol
    Merc's Garage
    MagnaFuel ProTuner Series 750 MP-1403
    Stainless Steel Works full exhaust
    SCT Advantage III Ford Pro Racer Software
    600.59 rwhp 559.91 Torque @ 20 lbs Boost
    2.3 Whipple Intercooled Supercharger
    BC Automotive Stage4 transmission
    03 Terminator built by Chris Vining

Yes, fuel filter in brand new! I've also replaced the IAC recently.
    Last edited by Ford_w/loctite; 04-07-2008 at 06:54 AM.

Were you below 1/4 tank of gas?
    Tom
    This one is for sale:
    2000 GM-LS-HPP & DOHC!
    Finally, did the 1/4mile.

Finally bought a Marauder #2,385
    205,000 miles and did rear spring conversion

She does it on a full tank....

when did it start?
    any time you remove the iac or replace it....you must dissconnect the neg. battery cable...wait 5 minutes...then restart the car...do not drive it...let it idle for 15 minutes....or take it to the dealer to have it zeroed. this device actually measures engine wear and makes adjustments accordingly. Also clean the Maf sensor.